2 Kings 14:26 (NIV) 26 The LORD had seen how bitterly everyone in Israel, whether slave or free, was suffering; there was no one to help them. 

When I look at all the children of Israel suffered during their times in the desert, I begin to look at my own life and my own desert times.  In the desert is where you will find things about yourself that need to be changed.   

Just when you think that things can’t get any worse, they do.  And sometimes they come with great appreciation for others.  My niece and I had traveled to Greensboro one Saturday afternoon to spend some quality time together.  On our way there, I made mention that my car tires seemed to be riding a little strangely.  As we pulled into the High Point Mall, yep, there it was….a flat tire. 

Not sure that I could change a tire, we ventured to Sears and spoke with two gentlemen who offered assistance to us if we could get the car to their work bays, on the OTHER SIDE of the mall.  Needless to say, we knew we couldn’t since we didn’t have a way to pump up the tire.  So, one of the men graciously drove around the mall and proceeded to pump up the tire and left.  As we tried to drive around to the OTHER SIDE of the mall, the tire came off the rim.  We were stunned.   

So, we call the mall and a recording saying, “Your Sears store is closed.”  What?  The store is open and fully operational we said, and so we called 911 for assistance since no one else would stop to help us in the dark.  The 911 operator proceeded to tell me, “Policemen don’t change tires, WHAT IS YOUR EMERGENCY?”  That was my emergency and I proceeded to tell her thanks and hung up.  Again my niece practically runs through the mall and begs for assistance again. 

Well, the young man came and he changed the tire and we proceeded to the OTHER SIDE of the mall and bought another tire and had it put on.  The blessing in this story is that I had purchased the other tire at Sears only one year ago and we received a discount for the new one.  We were greeted with such warmth and compassion from two strangers who only wanted us to get home safely and one of the gentlemen’s Grandmother was someone whom I had worked with for several years at KFI.  So, in my desperate plea to God, “to send me an angel”, he sent me two or may I say five actually.

My son, his cousin and his Father were now in route to help us so that they could follow us back home and we could enjoy Krispy Kreme doughnuts with them as a small token of their sacrifice of a “Boys Night Out.”  Sometimes even in the midst of divorce and circumstances, those who knew you best, are still willing to help out when things are not the best in your life.  Even if they did it, because your niece was in the car.  (ha ha) 

As I got home that evening, I was joyful in the rewards that God had given me that day.  Quality time with my niece, seeing my son and his love of Krispy Kreme and also the fact that my niece found what I thought was my “stolen” camera.  The camera was in the ashtray of my car!!!  Can you believe that?!  In the ashtray.  I don’t remember putting it there, but it was there.  We were jubilant in finding the photos I thought were forever gone. 

God is so good to us.  I seem to forget that at times.  In the midst of chaos we find comfort in knowing that he is also looking after us and that is saving things for us and that he is willing to give us back what we thought we had lost.  In that same day I had to purchase another cellphone because my old one was not charging properly.  Thank you Lord, that I had a new one to make the necessary phone calls that evening. 

My prayer for you is remember that God always provides something good in every situation and that if you are wise enough to see his hand in everything in your life, then you will be more thankful of even the desert times.  He is always there when there is NO ONE else to turn to.