Ecclesiastes 7:10 (NIV)

 10 Do not say, “Why were the old days better than these?”
       For it is not wise to ask such questions.
 

Recently I found myself wondering about certain things and questions that I might want to ask God someday.  Something like:  “Where do the lids to the Tupperware containers disappear?  Where do the socks disappear to in the dryer?  Why does my child ask so many questions I can’t answer?  What does heaven really look like?” 

Dictionary.com defines question in many ways.  Three definitions are: 

1.    a sentence in an interrogative form, addressed to someone in order to get   information in reply.   

 

2. a problem for discussion or under discussion; a matter for investigation.

 

3. a matter of some uncertainty or difficulty; problem (usually fol. by of): It was simply a question of time.     

Sometimes there are no answers for the questions that we ask other people and there are not answers from God in certain situations or circumstances.  The one thing that is relevant is that we are to have faith and believe.  Even though times may look so bleak or uncertain, the answers will come in God’s timing.   

I am glad that I don’t have the power to see the future.  If I did, it would be like opening my Christmas presents before Christmas day.  I like surprises and enjoy happy endings.  Sometimes even in the movies there aren’t happy endings, but there are lessons learned and hearts are stronger.   

Christmas has to be my favorite holiday.  The time spent with family and friends, the joy of the season of Jesus’ birth and not necessarily presents received but the opportunity to bless others.  We have a tradition of playing a game at our family gathering which has become the best part of our time together.  We laugh and joke, steal each others prized possessions (in good fun) and find that the family circle is filled with the spirit of joy and laughter and time together reminiscing of old times as well.   The past couple of Christmas’ my family and I have cooked a meal and taken it to the Room In The Inn shelter for the homeless.   That is such a joy for me personally.   

Christmas happens at my house everyday.  We have a 4-5 ft tree that stays decorated all year.  This past weekend, my Mother and brother came to have dinner and a movie with my son and I, and we had Christmas in October.  It was fun to sit with the lights off and see the lights of the tree and remember our loved ones and spend time together.  You see, every day can be Christmas, as long as you have those around to love and be loved in return. 

The age old question is this, “What did you do with the gift that I gave you? The gift of my son?”   We should remember that every day is an opportunity to show love to others and to share Jesus with others.   

My prayer for you today is that even though you have questions that may not be answered for you today, that you will be able to answer the question that God has for you one day.