2 Samuel 23:4 (NIV)

 4 he is like the light of morning at sunrise
       on a cloudless morning,
       like the brightness after rain
       that brings the grass from the earth.’
 

Sunrise….what an amazing sight.  As the huge ball of wonder called the Sun starts to appear, it looks as if it is going to catch on fire and burst into shooting flames, then it just seems to smooth itself out and become more soft and silky in appearance. 

One morning I awoke rather early and decided to spend some time praying and I decided to step outside and into the light of the sunrise.  It was peaceful, serene and almost medicating to say the least.  In the movie, City of Angels, every morning the angels would be standing on the beach gazing at the sun and heaven and they were to have been listening to music.  That has to be one of my favorite movies.  The freedom she finally feels towards the end in knowing her angel and even though she is killed, you knew that she has felt a peace in her life. 

As I am writing this, I noticed the sunlight’s brightness shining from under the bottom of my basement door.  Its strong rays trying to come into this dark room and brighten my world.  How comforting.   It makes you just want to “shove open the door and run outside and hold out your arms to the heavens with rejoicing for another day.” 

The first scripture I read this morning was: Psalm 118:24 (NIV) This is the day the LORD has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it.  How many times do we just get up and go about our days and forget to thank God for the ability to do so?  How many times do we forget that he gives us another day to do his work?

On the movie soundtrack for City of Angels, one of my favorite songs is by U2 entitled If God Will Send His Angels.  The chorus is as follows:  

Hey if God will send his angels
And if God will send a sign
And if God will send his angels
Would everything be alright

God sends angels everyday to us in different ways.  It could be in a phone call from a friend, a kind word or smile.  It could that you are hungry and someone calls you for lunch unexpectedly.  You receive love from another person in your time of need.  The lead singer for U2, Bono, is known the world over for his humanitarian positions on many things.  One of the Bono’s quotations that I really like is:  “I believe that if we follow logic all the way to the smallest point we will find God.” 

As I am writing, the soundtrack is playing and its serene sounds of the orchestra are comforting to me and I know that God is in this place.  He fills me with an abundant joy of the things to come and the days that have passed and I have no regrets or reasons to hold grudges from the past.  Today I have found peace in the fact that I am more free than I’ve ever been in my life and free to go forward with a newness in my soul and to love and live this life like never before. 

My prayer for you today is that you find peace and comfort that angels are all around you.  Love one another and be kind and gracious and forgiving of others. 

